2017 Webinar series

The Community Conservation Research Network’s 10 part webinar series explores the themes central to the CCRN: communities, conservation and livelihoods.

Browse the tabs to the right to watch videos of our past webinars and to register for upcoming webinars.

Continue reading below for more details and the full list of scheduled monthly webinars. Follow the links below to register for each webinar.

 

UPCOMING CCRN WEBINARS

International Environmental law in the Context of Communities, Conflict, Conservation and Peace – Presented by Britta Sjöstedt and Elaine Hsiao

August 31st 2017 at 2:30 PM Atlantic Daylight Time (10:30 am PDT; 1:30 pm EDT; 5:30 pm UTC) – Nature conservation and protected areas have had a complex history with violence, conflict and peace. The advent of fortress model conservation created a legacy of disenfranchisement, coercion and human rights abuses, while wildlife wars are creating a new trend towards armament in the call to save endangered species. International environmental law has sought to support sustainable development and international cooperation through protected areas and conservation and may also have an important role in cultivating peace in war-torn States. However, the impact of applying international environmental law on the lives and livelihoods of local communities is not always straightforward. In fact, it can lead to militarization of protected areas involving strategies that drive local communities out. Thus, conservation activities may even destabilize peacebuilding processes. For more details and to register, click here.


Balancing social justice and conservation concerns in an era of expanded protected area targets – Presented by Dr. Merle Sowman
September 27th 2017 at 11 am Eastern Daylight Time (8 am PDT; 12 noon ADT; 3 pm UTC) Marine Protected Areas (MPAs) are increasingly recognized across the world as an important strategy for protecting marine resources, conserving biodiversity, rebuilding threatened fish stocks and restoring degraded habitats.This webinar explores the tensions between efforts to manage existing protected areas and requirements to respect rights and livelihoods of local communities. For more details and to register, click here.


Power and Politics in Community Conservation – Presented by Dr. Prateep Kumar Nayak
October 18th 2017 at 12:00 noon Eastern Daylight Time (9 am PDT; 1 pm ADT; 4 pm UTC) Issues of power and politics are at the heart of community conservation which in turn influences its ultimate success and failure. Power is central to understanding processes and structures associated with resource and environmental conservation. For more details and to register, click here.


The Power of Community: Effective Conservation and Sustainable Livelihoods –Presented by Dr. Tony Charles
November 22nd 2017 at 12:00 noon Eastern Standard Time (9 am PST; 1 pm AST; 5 pm UTC) This webinar describes a variety of old and new ideas coming from the work of the Community Conservation Research Network (CCRN) over the past five years. What environmental stewardship approaches do communities use to ensure local economies and livelihoods are safeguarded? What is the role of government policy? This webinar explores these questions by drawing on the network’s case studies from around the world. For more details and to register, click here.